Article ID: CBB854188832

Inaugurating the Everett Mendelsohn Prize (2016)


It is my pleasure to announce the inauguration of the Everett Mendelsohn Prize. This prize will be awarded annually to the author of an article published during the previous 3 years in the Journal of the History of Biology. Every article published in the preceding 3 years will be automatically considered. The Editor-in-Chief and the Associate Editors of JHB will act as a committee to award the prize, and will judge all entries on the basis of their originality, scholarship, and significance for the history of biology. Each year’s winner will be announced in JHB, and will receive an honorarium of $500. The first Everett Mendelsohn Prize will be awarded in 2017 to mark the 50th volume of the journal. All articles published in JHB in 2014–2016 (volumes 47–49) will be considered for this first Mendelsohn Prize.

Citation URI

Similar Citations

Article (2019)
2019 Everett Mendelsohn Prize (/isis/citation/CBB066579010/)

Book MacLeod, Roy; Allen, Garland; (2002)
Science, History and Social Concern: Essays in Honor of Everett Mendelsohn (/isis/citation/CBB001035779/)

Book Allen, Garland E.; MacLeod, Roy M.; (2001)
Science, History, and Social Activism: A Tribute to Everett Mendelsohn (/isis/citation/CBB000100891/)

Chapter Andrew Streitwieser; (2015)
Hydrogen Isotopes in Physical Organic Chemistry (/isis/citation/CBB214171595/)

Article (Spring/Summer 2014)
RL&HS Awards (/isis/citation/CBB940356172/)

Thesis Mizrahi, Moti; (2010)
What Is Scientific Progress? (/isis/citation/CBB001567179/)

Article Inhaber, H.; Przednowek, K.; (1976)
Quality of research and the Nobel Prizes (/isis/citation/CBB000004055/)

Book Kurian, George Thomas; (2002)
The Nobel Scientists: A Biographical Encyclopedia (/isis/citation/CBB000302245/)

Book Weber, Robert L.; (1980)
Pioneers of science: Nobel Prize winners in physics. Edited by Lenihan, J. M. A. (/isis/citation/CBB000001948/)

Book Breit, William; Spencer, Roger W.; (1990)
Lives of the laureates: Ten Nobel economists. Second edition (/isis/citation/CBB000034350/)

Book Breit, William; Spencer, Roger W.; (1986)
Lives of the laureates: Seven Nobel economists (/isis/citation/CBB000046475/)

Book Opfell, Olga S.; (1986)
The lady laureates: Women who have won the Nobel Prize. Second edition (/isis/citation/CBB000048988/)

Article Bektas, M. Yakup; Crosland, Maurice; (1992)
The Copley Medal: The establishment of a reward system in the Royal Society, 1731-1839 (/isis/citation/CBB000029084/)

Book Ladous, Régis; (1994)
Des Nobel au Vatican: La fondation de l'Académie Pontificale des Sciences (/isis/citation/CBB000056998/)

Article Crosland, Maurice; Gálvez, Antonio; (1989)
The emergence of research grants within the prize system of the French Academy of Science, 1795-1914 (/isis/citation/CBB000055899/)

Article Vlachy, J.; (1979)
Nobel prizes: A bibliography of scientometric papers and data sources (/isis/citation/CBB000018671/)

Book McGrayne, Sharon Bertsch; (1993)
Nobel Prize women in science: Their lives, struggles, and momentous discoveries (/isis/citation/CBB000057028/)

Authors & Contributors
Spencer, Roger W.
MacLeod, Roy M.
Crosland, Maurice P.
Breit, William
Mizrahi, Moti
Allen, Garland
Social Studies of Science
Railroad History
Notes and Records: The Royal Society Journal of the History of Science
Journal of the History of Biology
Acta Radiologica: Diagnosis
MIT Press
Scarecrow Press
Prometheus Books
Kluwer Academic
Éditions du Cerf
Prizes; awards
History of science, as a discipline
Science and society
Life sciences
Mendelsohn, Everett
Woodward, Robert Burns
Röntgen, Wilhelm Conrad
Nobel, Alfred Bernhard
Laudan, Larry
Kuhn, Thomas S.
Time Periods
20th century
19th century
21st century
18th century
British Isles
Railroad and Locomotive Historical Society
Royal Society of London
Pontificia Accademia della Scienze
American Chemical Society
Académie des Sciences, Paris

Be the first to comment!

{{ comment.created_by.username }} on {{ comment.created_on | date:'medium' }}

Log in or register to comment