Book ID: CBB802046280

Piero's Light: In Search of Piero della Francesca: A Renaissance Painter and the Revolution in Art, Science, and Religion (2014)

unapi

Larry Witham (Author)


Pegasus Books


Publication Date: 2014
Physical Details: 368 pages
Language: English

In the tradition of The Swerve and Galileo's Daughter, Piero's Light reveals how art, religion and science came together at the dawn of the modern world in the paintings of one remarkable artist In the heart of Tuscany, Piero della Francesca became a painter and mathematician at the dawn of the Renaissance, revealing his innovative mind in some of the best known images from that period, and in his unusual writings on geometry. Yet as a personality, Piero remains a mystery. He leaves an enigmatic legacy that ranges from the merging of religion and mathematics to his use of perspective to make painting a "true science." In this engaging narrative, Larry Witham transports us to Piero's tumultuous age, a world of princes and popes, soldiers and schisms. Piero's Light also reveals how he was part of the philosophical revival of Platonism, an ancient worldview that would shape art, religion, and science's transition toward modernity. Just sixteen of Piero's paintings survive, but these images and his writings would fuel some of the greatest art historical debates of all time. Through Witham's wide research, Piero emerges as a figure who marks a turning point in Western culture. Our past understanding of faith, beauty, and knowledge has been radically altered by a secular age, and the story of Piero helps us understand how this has taken place. The search for Piero has continued among both intrepid scholars and art lovers of all kinds, and it is no wonder: few artists in history take us as deeply into the intellectual excitement of the Renaissance as Piero della Francesca.

...More
Citation URI
https://data.isiscb.org/isis/citation/CBB802046280/

Similar Citations

Book Enrico Gamba; Vico Montebelli; (2022)
Piero della Francesca, matematico (/isis/citation/CBB397029119/)

Book Roberta Ballestriero; Owen Burke; Francesco Galassi; (2019)
Ceroplastics: The Art of Wax (/isis/citation/CBB828682939/)

Chapter Seidel, Linda; (2007)
Visual Representation as Instructional Text: Jan van Eyck and The Ghent Altarpiece (/isis/citation/CBB000775010/)

Book Principe, Lawrence M.; (2007)
Chymists and Chymistry: Studies in the History of Alchemy and Early Modern Chemistry (/isis/citation/CBB000700925/)

Book Joost-Gaugier, Christiane L.; (2009)
Pythagoras and Renaissance Europe: Finding Heaven (/isis/citation/CBB001023342/)

Book Sorci, Alessandra; (2001)
“La forza de le linee”: Prospettiva e stereometria in Piero della Francesca (/isis/citation/CBB000641278/)

Book Kim Williams; Cosimo Monteleone; (2021)
Daniele Barbaro’s Perspective of 1568 (/isis/citation/CBB872172527/)

Article Field, J.V.; (1995)
Piero della Francesca and the “distance point method” of perspective construction (/isis/citation/CBB000067418/)

Article Field, J.V.; (1997)
Alberti, the abacus and Piero della Francesca's proof of perspective (/isis/citation/CBB000073579/)

Article Judith Veronica Field; (2021)
Perspectiva in painting: Piero della Francesca and the Interaction Between Theory and Practice (/isis/citation/CBB221559776/)

Article Schreiber, Peter; Fischer, Gisela; Sternath, Maria Luise; (2008)
New Light on the Rediscovery of the Archimedean Solids during the Renaissance (/isis/citation/CBB000850600/)

Chapter John Hendrix; (2017)
2. Renaissance Aesthetics and Mathematics (/isis/citation/CBB629863493/)

Authors & Contributors
Field, Judith Veronica
Andersen, Kirsti
Monteleone, Cosimo
Thierry Belleguic
Burke, Owen
Galassi, Francesco
Journals
Micrologus: Nature, Sciences and Medieval Societies
Renaissance Studies
Nuncius: Annali di Storia della Scienza
Imago Mundi: A Review of Early Cartography
Early Science and Medicine: A Journal for the Study of Science, Technology and Medicine in the Pre-modern Period
Archive for History of Exact Sciences
Publishers
Egea Editore
Springer
SISMEL edizioni del Galluzzo
Science History Publications
L'Erma di Bretschneider
Hermann
Concepts
Science and art
Perspective
Science and religion
Mathematics
Geometry
Projective geometry
People
Francesca, Piero della
Pacioli, Luca
Barbaro, Daniele
Alberti, Leon Battista
Regiomontanus (Jahannes Mueller)
Taylor, Brook
Time Periods
Renaissance
15th century
16th century
17th century
Early modern
18th century
Places
Europe
Sweden
Poland
Italy
Germany
Austria
Comments

Be the first to comment!

{{ comment.created_by.username }} on {{ comment.created_on | date:'medium' }}

Log in or register to comment