Book ID: CBB280882853

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: A History of the Renaissance Mathematics That Birthed Imaginary Numbers, Probability, and the New Physics of the Universe (2017)

unapi

Brooks, Michael (Author)


Scribe Publications


Publication Date: 2017
Physical Details: 232
Language: English

A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

...More
Reviewed By

Review Howard G. Barth (2020) Review of "The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: A History of the Renaissance Mathematics That Birthed Imaginary Numbers, Probability, and the New Physics of the Universe". Isis: International Review Devoted to the History of Science and Its Cultural Influences (pp. 874-875). unapi

Review Howard G. Barth (2020) Review of "The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: A History of the Renaissance Mathematics That Birthed Imaginary Numbers, Probability, and the New Physics of the Universe". Isis: International Review Devoted to the History of Science and Its Cultural Influences (pp. 874-875). unapi

Citation URI
https://data.isiscb.org/isis/citation/CBB280882853/

Similar Citations

Article Gavagna, Veronica; (2010)
Medieval Heritage and New Perspectives in Cardano's Practica arithmetice (/isis/citation/CBB001034312/)

Article Williams, Lambert; (2005)
Cardano and the Gambler's Habitus (/isis/citation/CBB000501552/)

Chapter Cesare S. Maffioli; (2015)
Not a Limit of Art but of Nature: Cardano and Galileo on the Suction Lift of Water (/isis/citation/CBB357566814/)

Article Pietro Daniel Omodeo; (2009)
La cosmologia infinitistica di Giovanni Battista Benedetti (/isis/citation/CBB282530778/)

Book Giovanni Ferraro; (2015)
Ricerche di storia della matematica (/isis/citation/CBB555656970/)

Article Pesic, Peter; (2010)
Hearing the Irrational: Music and the Development of the Modern Concept of Number (/isis/citation/CBB001021214/)

Article Sabine Rommevaux–Tani; (2016)
Michael Stifel, lecteur de la "Practica arithmetice" de Gerolamo Cardano (/isis/citation/CBB465327452/)

Article Sara Confalonieri; (2018)
An Overview on Cardano's "De Regula Aliza" (/isis/citation/CBB917202273/)

Article Beery, Janet L.; (2009)
Formulating Figurate Numbers (/isis/citation/CBB000931932/)

Article Brendan Dooley; (2008)
Narrazione e verità: don Giovanni de' Medici e Galileo (/isis/citation/CBB479828025/)

Article Spranzi Zuber, Marta; (2001)
Rhétorique, dialectique et probabilité au XVIe siècle (/isis/citation/CBB000102506/)

Book Mariassunta Picardi; (2019)
Il geroglifico della natura. Filosofia, scienza e magia in John Dee (/isis/citation/CBB674580890/)

Article Laurence Wuidar; (2009)
L'interdetto della conoscenza: segreti celesti e arcani musicali nel Cinquecento e Seicento (/isis/citation/CBB386803290/)

Article Jean-Patrice Boudet; Laurence Moulinier-Brogi; (2019)
Miscellanées magico-scientifiques en Italie au Quattrocento: l’exemple du ms. Paris, BnF, it. 1524 (/isis/citation/CBB592436254/)

Authors & Contributors
Kühne, Andreas
Spranzi Zuber, Marta
Williams, Lambert
Brentjes, Sonja
Hadravová, Alena
Kaunzner, Wolfgang
Journals
Bollettino di Storia delle Scienze Matematiche
Bruniana & Campanelliana: Ricerche Filosofiche e Materiali Storico-testuali
Isis: International Review Devoted to the History of Science and Its Cultural Influences
Revue de Synthèse
Studies in History and Philosophy of Science
British Society for the History of Mathematics Bulletin
Publishers
E. Rauner Verlag
Edizioni dell'Orso
SISMEL edizioni del Galluzzo
Concepts
Mathematics
Astrology
Cosmology
Astronomy
Physics
Probability and statistics
People
Cardano, Girolamo
Galilei, Galileo
Stifel, Michael
Peurbach, Georg von
Nunes, Pedro
Kepler, Johannes
Time Periods
16th century
Renaissance
17th century
15th century
Early modern
Medieval
Places
Italy
Europe
Prague (Czechia)
Nuremberg (Germany)
Germany
Florence (Italy)
Comments

Be the first to comment!

{{ comment.created_by.username }} on {{ comment.created_on | date:'medium' }}

Log in or register to comment