Book ID: CBB001213181

I Died for Beauty: Dorothy Wrinch and the Cultures of Science (2013)

unapi

Senechal, Marjorie (Author)


Oxford University Press


Publication Date: 2013
Physical Details: 300 pp.; ill.
Language: English

In the vein of A Beautiful Mind, The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, and Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA, this volume tells the poignant story of the brilliant, colorful, controversial mathematician named Dorothy Wrinch. Drawing on her own personal and professional relationship with Wrinch and archives in the United States, Canada, and England, Marjorie Senechal explores the life and work of this provocative, scintillating mind. Senechal portrays a woman who was learned, restless, imperious, exacting, critical, witty, and kind. A young disciple of Bertrand Russell while at Cambridge, the first women to receive a doctor of science degree from Oxford University, Wrinch's contributions to mathematical physics, philosophy, probability theory, genetics, protein structure, and crystallography were anything but inconsequential. But Wrinch, a complicated and ultimately tragic figure, is remembered today for her much publicized feud with Linus Pauling over the molecular architecture of proteins. Pauling ultimately won that bitter battle. Yet, Senechal reminds us, some of the giants of mid-century science--including Niels Bohr, Irving Langmuir, D'Arcy Thompson, Harold Urey, and David Harker--took Wrinch's side in the feud. What accounts for her vast if now-forgotten influence? What did these renowned thinkers, in such different fields, hope her model might explain? Senechal presents a sympathetic portrait of the life and work of a luminous but tragically flawed character. At the same time, she illuminates the subtler prejudices Wrinch faced as a feisty woman, profound culture clashes between scientific disciplines, ever-changing notions of symmetry and pattern in science, and the puzzling roles of beauty and truth.

...More
Reviewed By

Review Gayle A. Buck (2014) Review of "I Died for Beauty: Dorothy Wrinch and the Cultures of Science". Science Education (pp. 740-742). unapi

Citation URI
http://data.isiscb.org/isis/citation/CBB001213181/

Similar Citations

Book Riehm, Elaine McKinnon; Hoffman, Frances; (2011)
Turbulent Times in Mathematics: The Life of J. C. Fields and the History of the Fields Medal (/isis/citation/CBB001213651/) unapi

Book Landini, Gregory; (2010)
Russell (/isis/citation/CBB001500071/) unapi

Article Craik, Alex D. D.; (2013)
In Search of Thomas Knight: Part 2 (/isis/citation/CBB001213291/) unapi

Book Roberts, Gareth; Smith, Fenny; (2012)
Robert Recorde: The Life and Times of a Tudor Mathematician (/isis/citation/CBB001213659/) unapi

Thesis Meyer, Michal; (2010)
Speaking for Nature: Mary Somerville and the Science of Empire (/isis/citation/CBB001562775/) unapi

Article Grattan-Guinness, Ivor; (2009)
Bertrand Russell (1872--1970), Man of Dissent (/isis/citation/CBB001022694/) unapi

Article Tisdale, Daniel; (2013)
Sieve of War: The Legacy of Jitsuro Nagura (/isis/citation/CBB001213293/) unapi

Article Carpenter, Brian E.; Doran, Robert W.; (2014)
John Womersley: Applied Mathematician and Pioneer of Modern Computing (/isis/citation/CBB001214454/) unapi

Book Freund, Peter G. O.; (2007)
A Passion for Discovery (/isis/citation/CBB001250393/) unapi

Book Brown, Andrew; (2012)
Keeper of the Nuclear Conscience: The Life and Work of Joseph Rotblat (/isis/citation/CBB001200110/) unapi

Article Murray, M. K.; Parrott, D.; (2014)
James Henry Michael 1920--2001 (/isis/citation/CBB001214355/) unapi

Article Enebakk, Vidar; (2009)
Lilley Revisited: Or Science and Society in the Twentieth Century (/isis/citation/CBB000952783/) unapi

Book Stagg, Ronald John; (2010)
The Golden Dream: A History of the St. Lawrence Seaway (/isis/citation/CBB001421492/) unapi

Article Fuller, J. G. C. M.; (2005)
Stratigraphic Stand-Off at the 49th Parallel (/isis/citation/CBB000630880/) unapi

Book Roberts, Siobhan; (2006)
King of Infinite Space: Donald Coxeter, the Man Who Saved Geometry (/isis/citation/CBB000830730/) unapi

Book McClellan, Jim; (2017)
My life with trains: memoir of a railroader (/isis/citation/CBB826505315/) unapi

Book Coleman, Simon; Carlin, Leslie; (2004)
The Cultures of Creationism: Anti-Evolutionism in English-Speaking Countries (/isis/citation/CBB000610329/) unapi

Thesis Stuhl, Andrew; (2013)
Empires on Ice: Science, Nature, and the Making of the Arctic (/isis/citation/CBB001567488/) unapi

Book Hartmut Berghoff; Jan Logemann; Felix Römer; (2017)
The Consumer on the Home Front: Second World War Civilian Consumption in Comparative Perspective (/isis/citation/CBB363431823/) unapi

Chapter Jacob Ward; (2018)
Oceanscapes and Spacescapes in North Atlantic Communications (/isis/citation/CBB968495914/) unapi

Authors & Contributors
Cronon, William
Staley, Richard A.
Loo, Tina
Keller, Richard C.
Coleman, Simon
Carlin, Leslie
Journals
British Society for the History of Mathematics Bulletin
Earth Sciences History: Journal of the History of the Earth Sciences Society
British Journal for the History of Science
Notes and Records: The Royal Society Journal of the History of Science
Historical Records of Australian Science
IEEE Annals of the History of Computing
Publishers
Oxford University Press
Ashgate
Walker & Company
American Mathematical Society
University of Wales Press
World Scientific
Concepts
Biographies
Mathematics
Mathematicians
Controversies and disputes
Science and society
Political activists and activism
People
Russell, Bertrand Arthur William
Eaton, Amos
Maclure, William
Coxeter, Harold Scott MacDonald
Lilley, Samuel
Rotblat, Joseph
Places
Great Britain
Canada
United States
Australia
Japan
Kenya
Times
20th century
19th century
20th century, early
21st century
16th century
Renaissance
Comments

Be the first to comment!

{{ comment.created_by.username }} on {{ comment.created_on | date:'medium' }}

Log in or register to comment